Sports news

Partey, Wakaso, Two Others Nominated For 2019 FIFPro/CAF Africa Finest XI

Playing article in audio

Four Ghanaian players have been nominated for the 2019 FIFPro/Caf Africa Finest XI following their outstanding performances for club and country.

They are Atletico Madrid midfielder Thomas Partey who made the final team for the maiden edition announced at the 2018 Caf Awards held in Dakar last January.

South Africa-based Richard Ofori gets a shot among nominees in a 10-man goalkeeping category.

The agile shot-stopper has been consistent as number 1 for Maritzburg United and the Ghana senior national team, Black Stars.

Mubarak Wakaso joined the list.

The Deportivo Alaves midfield kingpin was one of Ghana’s best shots at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt over the summer – also earned recognition for his splendid displays for both club and country.

Completing the Black Stars quartet is lead striker Jordan Ayew. The Crystal Palace man has been in red-hot form for most parts of the year especially at Afcon 2019 where he bagged a couple of crucial goals for Ghana.

The former Swansea City and Aston Villa forward has since carried the form into the Premier League and making headlines with the Eagles in the ongoing 2019/20 season.

2019 Africa Cup of Nations winners Algeria dominates the 55-man nominee list with a total of 10 players.

The 2019 FIFPro/Africa Finest XI will be unveiled during the 27th edition of the Caf Awards set for the Albatros Citadel Resort in Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Red Sea in Egypt on Tuesday, January 7, 2020.

Full list of nominees:

Goalkeepers: Moez Ben Cherifia, Yassine Bonnou, Mohamed El Shenaway, Sylvain, Gbohouo, Rais M’bolhi, Edouard Mendy, Richard Ofori, Andre Onana, Denis Onyango, Francis Uzoho.

Defenders: Youcef Atal, Serge Aurier, Mehdi Benatia, Ahmed El-Mohammadi, Lamine Gassama, Faouzi Ghoulam, Achraf Hakimi, Ahmed Hegazi, Kalidou Koilibaly, Christian Luyindama, Issa Mandi, Joel Matip, Noussair Mazraoui, Yassine Meriah, Youssouf Sabaly.

Midfielders: Andre-Frank Anguissa, Ismael Bennacer, Sofiane Feghouli, Idrissa Gueye, Tarek Hamed, Alex Iwobi, Wahbi Khazri, Naby Keita, Franck Kessie, Wilfried Ndidi, Riyad Mahrez, Thomas Partey, Mubarak Wakaso, Victor Wanyama, Hakim Ziyech.

Forwards: Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, Jordan Ayew, Anis Badri, Cedric Bakambu, Youcef Belaili, B
aghdad Bounedjah, Odion Ighalo, Sadio Mane, Moussa Marega, Mbaye Niang, Nicolas Pepe, Mohamed Salah, Islam Slimani, Percy Tau, Wilfried Zaha.

Show More


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button